Thesis 2: Markets consist of human beings, not demographic sectors

Okay, here we go. You ready? I’m on one today, and it is a good one. I’m not going to pick up where I left off yesterday just yet, but if you see correlations, you won’t be missing anything. They’re coming, oh do I promise.

What you are getting today is a smashup of thoughts that I have been working through for a few weeks.

I have this great friend—the kind of friend with whom you can totally spazz out with on whatever topic comes to mind, no-holds-barred. This friend and I met on twitter (this’ll come ‘round). This friend and I speak so much internet, a listener-in-on of our conversations would feel full culture shock. [not to worry, we’re probably starting a radio show based on this awesome]

At any rate, one topic that we embraced, then destroyed, was that of twitter. We get meta sometimes all the times.

It seems twitter is beginning to become more corporate than its social network identity of the past. Now look here: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10000872396390444025204577543313839816248.html

What happens when this happens?

Let’s go back to thesis 1: Markets are Conversations. Now this tautology creates an ontological appropriation—that each side of the copula equals the other. And when you add something to one side, you’re getting a formula, algebraic equation that will need some deduction and such. If markets are conversations, but are also composed of human beings, then conversations also consist of human beings.

Well, yea, of course!

It ain’t so simple as all that. It seems corporate marketers are tuning in to what makes us human market conversers: conversation. So there they went and began appropriating us into yet another means of production to subvert our identities into demographic sectors again. Fukin twitter.

It’s cool though, guise, because we still have what they need, and they can’t actually get at us.

I am currently in le twitter tweeting a good game of internet (probably going down as one of the best) with a whole group of women. Some are from my native US, but many are all over the world. There we are connecting our timelines to make meaning for us in the now. The marketers may be watching, using their data collection to see what we “need” (*cue laughter*) in order to tell us who we “can” be.

But they’ll be way behind.

Come the time they get all of our data together into some sort of modernist coherence, is the time it’ll take for us beautiful chimeras to become a thousand more selves.

How is this possible?

So here is the coup de grâce: when we self-appropriate ourselves as markets and conversations, we are acknowledging the power we have to control all appropriations. What now…did I just remind us of our liberty? Yes, friends, that is what I am saying.

The thing with conversation and being discourse-makers is that we decide what it is we want, and who it is we are. The marketers can—and will only—play catch-up. They are always behind, not in front.

All those billboards, ads, slogans, and et al are always yesterday. We are tomorrow right now. Shit, we may even be next year. I mean, how many marketers have read the theory and poetry my friends and I have? Good luck, capitalism, good luck.

This all being said, and meant, means that there is much more meaning left to go. (did I come full circle yet? you know I did. lol).

Let twitter, the governments, the corporations, and all those politicians and marketers chase each other for our data. It isn’t like they’re going to understand it all anyway. We are far too busy being awesome and running things.

And, in case you’re skeptical of my propositions, please attend to the fact that the conversation isn’t just in twitter, but the whole of the internet.

My friends and I know one critical, crucial act of liberation: sharing. Every single day, there we are sharing our sources, knowledge-bases, and discourses with each other. We are learning. So when @sargoth says that she uses the term “non-students” because she doesn’t have students, she reminds me of my self-made appropriation. @sargoth, dearest, I am always a student of your mind. It is safe and warm there, and you always challenge me. May I stay?

I tweeted to another friend, @SaraSnits, that she has given me more textual knowledge in one day than a whole quarter of grad school. How is that even possible, you ask! Well, it is because she shares texts, thoughts, and information that I read every day. I am constantly learning. twitter may be trying to buy me, buy us, but I am earning my education there for free.

Hmm…does this lead to a need to explain how and why legislation and control of the internet, of file-sharing, and of censorship is becoming the most prevalent social and human rights issue today/yesterday? It might. But we’ll have to share to get there.

Until tomorrow…

3 thoughts on “Thesis 2: Markets consist of human beings, not demographic sectors

Leave a Reply

